NZIF Otago-Southland

In the 2015/16 year, the Board of the NZIF Foundation agreed to establish the Otago Southland award of funds received in 2013/14 that arose from members of the NZIF Otago-Southland local section. Details are as follows:


To assist or enable a project of relevance to forestry in the Otago-Southland region


Funds to finance the award arose from a donation arising from the NZIF Otago-Southland local section.  The award will cease once funds are exhausted.

Size and term of Award

To be determined by the Foundation Board.  Up to $3,000 is offered in 2019.


No separate fund has been created in the Foundation’s accounts.  Rather a commitment to make awards so long as funds remain, has been included in the Foundation’s accounts.


Applications should be made in writing and provide the following information:

  • The applicant’s name, qualifications and contacts;
  • Description of the project;
  • Details of how the project is of relevance to forestry in the Otago/Southland Region;
  • Names and details of any collaborators in the project;
  • When the project was, or is to be started and the expected completion date;
  • Amount sought and how it will be used;
  • Details of the project budget including other sources of funding;
  • Your CV
  • The names and contact details of two referees and stating their relationship to both the applicant and the project.






2018 Rhys Black, B.For.Sc. Student at University of Canterbury  An analysis of New Zealand’s bulk vessel availability for log exports  $3,000


Luke Holmes, BE (Hons) in Forest Engineering student at University of Canterbury

Productivity analysis of fully mechanised cable logging operations in NZ



No award




(This fund is a declining one – awards cease when balance is $0)





Balance of Fund

Balance at 1/4/16





September 2017

Award to Luke Holmes




July 2018

Award to Rhys Black




Applications must be received by the Foundation administrator ([email protected]) no later than 5pm on Tuesday 17th July 2019

The awards will be announced at the Awards Dinner of the NZ Institute of Forestry Conference in Christchurch 26th August 2019.  For details of the conference see