Two new Honorary Members

At the 1988 Annual General Meeting two new Honorary Members were elected. Both are well known in the forestry profession in New Zealand.

Anthony W. Grayburn (proposed by Peter Thode) joined the New Zealand Forest Service in 1941, studied for a B.Sc. at Victoria University and after the war did his Diploma in Forestry at Canberra Forestry School. From 1951 to 1956 he was a forester at Kaingaroa and later in Invercargill. Following this he was with the Selwyn Plantation Board (1956-63). Since then his career has been with New Zealand Forest Products Ltd. He was made Chairman of NZFP Forests Ltd earlier this year.

Tony was also an active member of the Forestry Council, the Forest Owners' Association, Logging Industries Research Association and the Bay of Plenty Harbour Board. In these roles he has had a large impact on forestry at national level.

He has been an active member of the Institute, having been on Council from 1961 to 1970 and served as President of the Institute from 1967 to 1969. Following his time on Council he was on the Membership and Consultants Committees.

John de Berri Graham Groome (proposed by Len Wilson) joined the New Zealand Forest Service in 1945 and subsequently did his B.Sc. degree, followed by his Diploma in Forestry at Canberra.

From 1954 until 1961 he was company manager of Hawkes Bay Forests Ltd (Titira). In 1962 he founded his own consulting practice at Taupo – J.G. Groome and Associates. This company flourished and eventually opened a second office in Christchurch. In 1987 he joined with Jaako Pöyry to form Groome Pöyry Ltd, the largest forest consulting firm in the region.

John has also been active on national bodies, being on the executive of the Forest Owners' Association, New Zealand Advisory Committee on External Aid and Development, and Member of the Production Forestry Advisory Committee of the Forest Research Institute.

In 1952 he became a full member of the Institute of Foresters and was on Council from 1962 to 1972. He was President of the Institute from 1970 to 1972 and Chairman of the Canterbury Section in 1979 and 1980.

These Honorary Members were accepted with acclamation.

New Fellows of NZIF

The 1988 AGM received the following as the inaugural group of Fellows of the New Zealand Institute of Forestry:

Mr C.R. McKenzie Mr B.J. Allison Mr I.L. Barton Dr A.J. McQuire Dr C.L. O'Loughlin Dr C. Bassett Mr A.E. Beveridge Mr P.F. Olsen Mr G.M. O'Neill Mr E.H. Bunn Mr C.G.R. Chavasse Mr A.L. Poole Mr B.H. Childs Mr J.R. Purey-Cust Mr M.J. Conway Professor S.D. Richardson Mr A.N. Sexton Mrs M.M. Davidson Mr P.W. Smail Mr J.J.K. Spiers Mr A.B. Downey Mr G. Fry Mr W. Girling-Butcher Mr W.P. Studholme Mr A.W. Grayburn Dr W.R.J. Sutton Mr J.G. Groome Professor G.B. Sweet Mr A.P. Thomson Mr J.E. Henry Mr J.S. Holloway Mr J. Ure Mr A. Kirkland Dr J.A. Wardle Professor P.J. McKelvey Dr A.G.D. Whyte

Under terms of the Constitution full members may be considered for the class of 'Fellows' by being nominated by two other members (Fellows, Honorary or Full Members) and meeting other criteria (see the Constitution). Nominations for the 1989 financial year must be in before the last day of 1988. Members wishing to be considered or wishing to nominate another member can obtain suitable forms from the Secretariat, NZIF, P.O. Box 12314, Thorndon, Wellington.

A reflective moment on Conference field trip



Don Mead (Journal Editor) deep in thought.

(Photo L. Crozier).